2015 Hall of Fame

Event Details

The 29th annual Community Hall of Fame Banquet will take place Tuesday, November 17, 2015, at Century Center. Social hour at 6 p.m., dinner at 7. The banquet honors current and former South Bend residents who have distinguished themselves in their field and through community service. Additionally, this banquet provides a visible tribute to Hall of Fame inductees  for residents and visitors to our community, enabling them to learn how these people made our community what it is today. Proceeds help to support the SBAA’s Co-Ex Grants program, which provides funds for extra-curricular activities that do not receive tax support.


EA-PhotoElijah Anderson
A South Bend Central graduate, he holds the William K. Lamman Jr. professorship at Yale University, where he teaches and directs the Urban Ethnography Project. Dr. Anderson is one of the nation’s leading urban ethnographers and cultural theorists. He has written and edited numerous books, book chapters, articles and scholarly reports on race in American cities and won many prestigious awards.


JodyFreid-DSC_1144a-100x150Jody Freid
A community activist, Jody has lent her organizational skills and enthusiasm to such causes as the American Cancer Society, Broadway Theatre League, Irish Youth Hockey, Human Rights Commission, YWCA, Stanley Clark School, College Hall of Fame Committee, Temple Beth-El and Sinai Synagogue.


Jack-McGann-95x150John (Jack) McGann
Retired editor and publisher of The Tribune. He served as chairman of the $1 million Campaign of Art Foundation; chairman of the 1981 United Way Campaign; co-chairman of the YWCA Capital Fund Drive; chairman of the Chamber of Commerce board; board chairman of Project Future; president of the board of the South Bend Regional Museum of Art; and creator and chairman of the Sunburst Marathon.


JCC11691-Miller-Jane-Woodward--120x150Jane Woodward Miller
Superior Court Judge since 2006. She served on the board of the Family & Children’s Center; special advocate for the CASA program; designed “Kid’s Court” program; started CASIE Center. She was a deputy prosecutor for 13 years, handling child abuse and neglect cases. The Life Treatment Center houses “Jane’s House,” a local residential facility for women with substance problems. From 1998 to 2013 she coached the Mock Trial program at Adams High School.


benitoBenito Salazar
A founder and one of the first directors of La Casa de Amistad. Boy Scout scoutmaster; served more than 40 years as director of Celestial Choir at St. Adalbert’s Catholic Church; member of Salvation Army’s Kroc Community Center arts committee; active in United Way for more than 28 years. In 2013 he was honored as a Trailblazer for his efforts to further civil rights.


Veldman familyVeldman Family
The Veldman Family. The late Pete Veldman founded the Tire Rack. He and his wife Wilma operated several businesses on South Bend’s west side before encouraging son-in-law Mike Jones to start the Tire Rack in 1979. The Veldman family has been active in various youth programs and in Catholic education.


Thomas-Stanfield-123x150Thomas S. Stanfield (historical inductee)
A key figure in the early history of South Bend. He came here in 1831 and helped establish the first railroad here. He was the city’s first postmaster, and in 1845 was elected to the state legislature. In 1853 he became a judge of the 9th Judicial Circuit.



The Hall of Fame annually presents awards to local citizens or organizations for outstanding contributions to our community.


  • Evie KirkwoodEvie Kirkwood: the Ideal Baldoni Distinguished Public Service Award
    Evie, the county parks superintendent, has led the county park system for many years.  During a time of increasing budget constraints she has managed to keep the parks vibrant and meaningful. She uses her time and talents to educate the public about the value of preserving and maintaining our natural resources.


  • St. Margaret's House logoSt. Margaret’s House: Distinguished Community Service Award
    St. Margaret’s House is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year. It provides assistance to women and children, particularly a safe place for them to stay warm in the winter and cool in the summer. It offers meals, showers, clothing, laundry facilities, counseling and other programs.


  • K. Smith[1][1]Kevin Smith: Distinguished Achievement Award
    Kevin, a local businessman, bought the former Union Station in 1979 and housed the family business there before converting it into a technology center. More recently, he acquired the former Studebaker assembly plant and is renovating it for use as an expanded version of the Technology Center.


  • WNIT logoWNIT: Corporate Contributions to Education Award
    The local PBS affiliate has enhanced local television programming in our community and promoted news and documentaries about the people and places that make us unique. Its move from Elkhart to South Bend has contributed to the revitalization of the downtown area

Title Sponsor

Teachers Credit Union

Honor Roll Sponsors

  • 1st Source Bank
  • Burkhart Sign Systems
  • Communications Company
  • Faegre Baker Daniels
  • Holladay Properties
  • Memorial Hospital
  • Memorial Children’s Hospital
  • Pathfinders Advertising
  • South Bend Chocolate Company
  • South Bend Tribune/WSBT
  • University of Notre Dame

Community Sponsors

  • Cressy Foundation
  • Electronics, Inc.
  • Four Winds Casino & Resort
  • Gates Automotive
  • Gurley Leep Auto Family
  • IU South Bend

Silver Star Sponsors

  • American Structurepoint
  • St. Joe Valley Metronet

 Nominate a Candidate



Past Members & Award Recipients